Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 5th, 2010

My 2nd grader’s school has Morning Program every school day. The entire school and many family members come together from 8:10 – 8:30am to sing, make announcements, recite the pledge, perform short plays, have visits from the police or fire departments, read the weather, sports, etc., and I try to go 3-4 times a month at least. This morning I went because my daughter had won a local weather contest and was going to read a poem.

Towards the end of today’s program the school counselor went up with about nine 2nd grade helpers and began talking about “right” and “wrong” with help from the students. This led to a short talk about right and wrong touching, and what to do if you feel you are being touched the wrong way. The 2nd grade helpers held up signs reading “No”, “Go”, and “Tell”. Then three other helpers held up signs reading “We are strong!”, “We are smart!”, and “We have the right to be safe!” and the entire school shouted out the words from those last three signs over and over.

It was so hard not to start crying, screaming, etc.. I looked around just a little and you could see some of the other parents and grandparents a little unsure about what to make of this. All I could think of was how I wished I had gotten this message and support when I was in grade school, and how glad I was that my younger children go to this school.

I thought it was great and I’m debating whether or not to say something to the school counselor. She helped my older daughter (and myself) when she started to have anxiety problems and we worked together to get her back on track. My daughter has GAD, but she is a completely changed kid from two years ago, and has managed remarkably well.

It was an unexpected surprise to hear those words so unabashedly shouted by so many kids. I really hope little things like that help any children who may be feeling like they have nowhere to turn. Six months ago had I heard that in her school I would have been mad, ashamed, etc., but that made me proud, especially as I watched my daughter yelling it at the top of her lungs.

That’s all.

Read Full Post »