Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for April 12th, 2010

It’s good to rant, complain, and write it out here on the blog. It’s good to look back and reassess and compare. Last month I had little to no control over flashbacks. This morning I realized I was crocheting, watching a show, and experiencing a flashback at the same time. And… I didn’t miss a stitch. The flashback came and I was able to turn down the intensity and eventually file it when it had passed. It just rolled on along like any other thing.

So, a little victory for me because the coping techniques I’ve been practicing actually worked finally. *whew* The flashbacks used to take nearly half a day to experience and process. Oh! I also did it without any medication. I’ve been Xanax-free for a few days now, too.

As I write this I feel the ol’, “That’s two steps forward. Here comes the one step backwards.” inner-talk. I know there will be setbacks, but this makes my day a little brighter. I had more anxiety giving myself a B-12 shot this morning than dealing with a new flashback.

Yay for little wins!

Read Full Post »